We want to showcase student involvement this political season on the campaign trail, in the classroom and beyond.  

Teachers should encourage students to share how they are getting involved in their community.


What should students submit?

Any active political involvement. For example, these could include: a candidate sign in their yard (national or local), participating in the campaign trail, participating in student government or a local rally.

How can students share?

Upload a photo of themselves to Facebook, Instagram or Twitter and include the hashtag #BeAVoter. We will select photos to spotlight on the Secretary of State Facebook page weekly. The live feed below shares all tagged photos – find yourself and share!


Youth Straw Poll: Schools Participating

Below you will find the full list of schools participating.

Don’t see yours? Get involved here.


Adair-Casey/Guthrie Center High School
Adel-De Soto-Minburn (ADM) High School
Alburnett Community School District
Algona Community School District
Ankeny Centennial High School
Aplington Parkersburg Middle School
Ballard Middle School
BCLUW Middle School
Bondurant-Farrar Community School District
Boyer Valley Community School District
Burlington Notre Dame High School
CALCommunity School
Cardinal High School
Centennial High School- Ankeny
Central Academy – Des Moines
Central City High School
Central Lee High School
Charles City High School
Cherokee Middle School & Washington High School – Cherokee
Clarion-Goldfield-Dows High School
Clear Creek Amana High School
Clinton Community Schools
Colo-NESCO High School
Dallas Center-Grimes High School
Davis County Middle School
Don Bosco Catholic High School
Dubuque Senior High School
Eagle Grove Community School District
Eagle Grove High School
Earlham High School
East Mills High School
East Sac County High School
East Union Community Schools
Easton Valley High School
Edgewood-Colesburg Elementary School
English Valleys High School
Essex Community School District
Excelsior Middle School
Forest City Middle School
Fort Dodge Senior High School
Fort Madison High School
George-Little Rock High School
Gladbrook-Reinbeck Jr/Sr High School
GMG Secondary School
Goodrell Middle School
Hampton-Dumont High School
Hempstead High School
Heritage Christian School
Hillcrest Academy – North Liberty
Hinton Community School District
Hoover High School – Des Moines
Howar Middle School – Centerville
Hudson Elementary School
Humboldt Middle School
Iowa City Liberty High School
Iowa Falls-Alden High School
Jesup High School
Kennedy High School – Cedar Rapids
Keokuk Catholic School
Keokuk High School
Keota High School
Lamoni High School
Lewis Central Middle School – Council Bluffs
Linn-Mar High School
Lynnville-Sully High School
Lynnville-Sully Middle School
Madison Elementary School – Cedar Rapids
Madrid High School
Maharishi School – Fairfield
Marquette Catholic Schools – Bellevue
McCombs Middle School – Des Moines
Mediapolis High School
Monticello High School
Morgan Valley Home Academy – Runnells
Mormon Trail Community School District
Murray High School
New Hampton Middle School
North Fayette Valley High School
North Fayette Valley Middle School
North Iowa Christian School
Northeast Middle School and High School
Oelwein Middle School
Osage Community Schools
Pella Christian High School
Pella Middle School
Riceville Community School District
River Valley Middle School
Rivermont Collegiate Schools – Bettendorf
Robert Blue Middle School – Eagle Grove
Roosevelt Middle School – Cedar Rapids
Rue Elementary – Council Bluffs
Sacred Heart School – West Des Moines
Sergeant Bluff-Luton High School
Seton Catholic School – Peosta
Sibley-Ocheyedan Middle School
Sigourney High School
Sioux City West High School
South Hamilton Community School District
South Page High School
South Tama County Middle School
Southeast Polk Junior High School
Southeast Warren Community School District
Southwest Valley High School
Spirit Lake High School
St. Rose of Lima School – Denison
St. Ansgar High School
St. Edmond High School – Fort Dodge
St. John School – Independence
St. Patrick’s Elementary School – Anamosa
Sully Christian High School
Summit Schools – Cedar Rapids
Thomas Jefferson Middle School – Dubuque
Tipton Middle School
Tri-County Elementary School – Thornburg
Turkey Valley High School
Twin Cedars High School
Urbandale High School
Urbandale Middle School
Valley High School – West Des Moines
Van Meter High School
Wapello Junior High School
Wapsie Valley High School
Washington High School – Cherokee
Webster City Community Schools
West Burlington Independent School District
West High School – Waterloo
West Marshall Middle School
Westwood Community School
Xavier High School – Cedar Rapids